A Guide to Texas DWI Penalties
Your criminal lawyers in Houston, Texas, want you to be aware of the consequences and penalties you could face if you are convicted of driving while intoxicated (DWI). These penalties can range from a license suspension to hard jail time, depending on the circumstances surrounding your conviction.
If you are convicted of a DWI charge, your Houston defense attorney wants you to know that the state of Texas can suspend your license, charge you an annual surcharge of up to $2,000 for three years to keep your license, force you to attend a DWI intervention or education program and potentially install an ignition interlock device on your car. These penalties can occur whether it is your first offense or not.
Some penalties for DWI increase in Texas based on the offense number. Your first offense can result in up to a $2,000 fine and between three and 180 days of jail time, as well as the previously mentioned across-the-board penalties.
For your second offense, the fine increases to up to $4,000 and jail time is increased to between a month and a year. Your third offense can net you up to a $10,000 fine and between two years and 10 years in a state prison.
DWI with a Child Passenger
Texas takes DWI with a child in the car very seriously. No matter what offense number you are on, driving while intoxicated when a child is your passenger can cause you to face up to a $10,000 fine, two years of jail time and a minimum 180-day license suspension.
Extreme DWI Crimes
Although Trichter & LeGrand, PC’s Houston DWI attorneys believe that all DWI charges are serious, they also know that DWI charges can involve felony charges, including intoxication assault and intoxication manslaughter. If you are facing either of these felony charges, you will need to speak with your Trichter & LeGrand attorney to learn the full extent of your possible penalties, as these can vary depending on the situation surrounding the charges.