Austin DUI Lawyer (For Minors)

When you need an Austin DWI attorney to defend your minor son or daughter of DUI, call Attorney Gary Trichter to mount an immediate, aggressive defense.

DUI or driving under the influence refers to minors 21 years old or younger, arrested while operating a motor vehicle while intoxicated. Since Texas is a zero-tolerance state, minors are never legally permitted to have alcohol in their system and drive a motor vehicle or watercraft. That means that prosecutors don’t need proof that the minor was impaired at the time of arrest in order to convict. They only need to show that there was a detectable amount of alcohol in the person’s body.

You’ll need an aggressive Austin DWI Lawyer to mount an effective defense since subsequent DUI charges carry a much harsher penalty.

An Austin DUI Lawyer Who is One of Only Four DWI Specialists

If a minor is convicted of DUI in Austin, he/she faces escalating penalties from the first DUI offense through the third or additional offenses. The punishment becomes more harsh every time he/she is convicted, so it’s critical that you defend the first offense as aggressively as possible. Austin DUI lawyer Gary Trichter has been defending minors arrested for DUI since 1980. Board-certified by the National College of DUI Defense, Gary is one of only four lawyers in Texas who is a DWI Specialist. This is the only designation recognized by both the American Bar Association and the Texas Bar Association.

1st Offense DUI

This is a Class B Misdemeanor which holds:

  • A fine not to exceed $2,000.00
  • Confinement in jail of 72 hours – 180 days
  • A driver license suspension for 90 – 365 days.
  • For the first offenses ONLY, the court may probate your jail sentence and/or waive the driver license suspension.
  • If the minor is in possession of an open alcoholic beverage container, the minimum confinement time increases to 6 days.

2nd Offense DUI

This is a Class A Misdemeanor which holds:

  • A fine not to exceed $4,000.00
  • Confinement in jail of 30 days – one year
  • A driver license suspension for 180 days – two years.

3rd or Subsequent Offense DUI

This is a Third Degree Felony which holds:

  • A fine not to exceed $10,000.00
  • Confinement in the penitentiary for two – 10 years
  • A driver license suspension for 180 days – two years.

Additional DUI-Related Charges

If you are also charged with Intoxication Assault and or Intoxication Manslaughter, the punishment and penalties increase steeply, including $10,000.00 fines, penitentiary confinement for two to 10 years, and up to two years driver license suspension.

Police do not have to take a minor arrested for DUI into custody and, in fact, are more likely to issue a citation with the necessary court date and time information. As an Austin DUI attorney, Gary knows the impact a DUI can have on a family like yours. Your son and daughter doesn’t have to forfeit his or her future with one mistake.

Call us 24/7 to speak to Gary about your case.

Let us answer your Texas DWI Questions

Texas DWI Questions

  • What is DWI and its potential punishment?
  • What is DUI and its potential punishment?
  • What are the penalties for DWI in Texas?
  • What is DWI 2nd and the potential punishment?
  • What is an administrative license revocation (ALR), and why is it important to have an ALR hearing?
  • What is a felony DWI?
  • What is a DWI 3rd or more and the potential punishment?
  • How long will a DWI arrest or a DWI conviction in Texas stay on my record? How will it affect my automobile insurance rates?

Answer

DWI is a criminal offense which prohibits you from operating a motor vehicle in a public place while “intoxicated” is defined as having lost the normal use of either mental or physical faculties, or having a .08 alcohol level in...

read more

Before 1983, DUI meant driving under the influence of drugs or narcotics, but now it only pertains to minors. In Texas, it is never permissible for minors to have any alcohol in their body and drive. DUI punishment as a...

read more

The penalties for DWI in Texas DWI are: A First-Offense conviction will less than a .15 BAC includes the possibility of a fine not to exceed $2,000.00 and/or a jail sentence from 3 days to 180 days, and a driver’s...

read more

DWI 2nd is a serious charge. According to the State of Texas, a DWI 2nd charge is when you are arrested for DWI and have previously been convicted once of driving while intoxicated. There is no limit to how old...

read more

  The best reason to request an administrative license revocation hearing or ALR hearing, first and foremost, is to try to save your driver’s license. The ALR Program is "a civil administrative process unrelated to criminal court proceedings, in which...

read more

Felony DWI in Texas charges are very serious and can have a major impact on your life beyond just the punishment stated. A felony conviction can disqualify you from voting, obtaining certain jobs, renting certain apartments, and owning a firearm. There are...

read more

According to the State of Texas, a DWI third offense is when an individual is arrested for DWI and has previously been convicted two times of DWI. If you are convicted of a third DWI, this third-degree felony can result in...

read more

A DWI conviction produces a permanent record. It is also important to note that a DWI probation, which is also a final conviction, will remain permanently on your criminal record. If, however, your DWI conviction case results in a dismissal,...

read more

Areas We Serve