Austin DWI – Driving While Intoxicated
Hire an Austin DWI Attorney Who Fights for You
Austin DWI Lawyer Gary Trichter knows that if you are pulled over on suspicion of DWI, you are 95% likely to be arrested as soon as you step out of your car. An arrest can devastate you both personally and professionally. It can cost you thousands of dollars in fines and fees not to mention you your job. But, with Gary and his team in your corner, being arrested for DWI in Austin, Texas doesn’t mean that your life is ruined.
An Austin DWI Lawyer and One of Only Four DWI Specialists in Texas
Gary is one of only four DWI Specialists by the National College for DUI Defense in Texas. He is board certified as DUI Defense Attorney by the NCDD, the sole entity recognized by both the American Bar Association and the Texas Bar Association to issue this qualification. Gary is recognized as a leading DWI lawyer who has spoken at more than 300 legal seminars teaching judges, other attorneys, and police officers across the country about Texas DUI law and the rights of those arrested.
Gary Trichter Wrote the Book on DWI
Gary has been aggressively defending Texas clients since 1980. He co-authored the textbook, Texas Drunk Driving Law, and has authored or co-authored more than 46 legal and aviation articles. When Texans are arrested for DWI in Austin, they turn to Gary Trichter to preserve their valuable reputations.
DWI Punishment for First-Time Offenders
If you are arrested for DWI in Austin, your blood or breath alcohol level (BAC), could determine if you are charged with a class A or B misdemeanor and affect the severity of your punishment and fines.
A BAC less than .15, is a class B misdemeanor in which you’ll face:
- The possibility of a fine no more than $2,000 and/or
- 3 to 180 days in jail and
- A suspended driver license from 90 to 365 days
If your BAC is .15 or more, the penalties escalate to a class A misdemeanor meaning punishment increases to:
- A fine not to exceed $4,000 and
- Up to 1 year in the county jail
If you have an open container in your vehicle when you’re arrested, the punishment increases to:
- A minimum jail sentence of 6 days (instead of 3 days).
- You’ll be assessed an annual tax (called a surcharge) of $1,000-$2,000 by the Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS) to retain your driver’s license.
Call Gary if you have specific questions about your BAC levels and how it affects your case.
2017 DWI Non-Disclosure Law Provides a Second Chance to First-Time DWI Offenders
The Texas Legislature signed a law in 2017 allowing first-time DWI offenders with a .08 to .14 BAC level to apply for a “non-disclosure” which restricts who can see your criminal record. The provision requires the offender to install an ignition interlock device on his vehicle for 6 months during the non-disclosure period and you can apply for it two years after the end of your probation. Without agreeing to have the device installed, you will have to wait 5 years after your probation to apply.
DWI Punishment for Second-Time Offenders
Gary advises those charged with a first-offense DWI to fight aggressively because the penalties for subsequent DWI convictions severely escalate.
Here, you’ll face:
- A maximum fine increases up to $4,000.00 and/or
- Jail from 30 days to one year, and
- A possible driver’s license suspension ranging from 180 days – 2 years (Class A Misdemeanor)
DWI Punishment for Third-Time Offenders
A third DWI conviction is a third degree felony and the penalties are much more severe:
- A fine up to $10,000.00 and/or
- 2 to 10 years of imprisonment (keep in mind that imprisonment is in a state-run penal institution whereas jail is a county-run institution), and
- Suspension of your driver’s license from 180 days – 2 years.
- With your felony conviction, you’ll be disqualified from voting and possessing a firearm
A DWI charge at any level is life-altering, so look at the attorney you hire to defend your rights. With so much on the line–your family, reputation and your job–ask yourself if you are mounting the most aggressive defense possible with an attorney who knows DWI defense. Call Gary for a free consultation.
DWI Defense All Over Austin, Texas
Gary defends clients all over Travis County including Austin, Round Rock, Pflugerville and Cedar Creek. He knows the courts and law enforcement and is ready to defend you.