830.213.2879 830.423.5860 713.597.2086

DWI Attorney in Austin

Trichter & LeGrand Logo

DWI Attorney in Houston

Get straight answers from our DWI Attorney in Houston at Trichter & LeGrand

Get your FREE consultation with our DWI Attorney in Houston Now

Full NamePhone NumberEmail AddressDate of ArrestGet a FREE Consultation Now

Second Chance for First-Time DWI Offenders

In 2017, a law was signed allowing first-time DWI offenders with a BAC of .08 to .14 to apply for a “non-disclosure.”

If you agree to install an ignition interlock device on your vehicle, the provision restricts who can see your criminal record.You can apply for a non-disclosure two years after the end of your probation, but you must have an ignition interlock device on your vehicle for 6 months during the non-disclosure period. If you decide not to have the device installed, you must wait 5 years after your probation to apply.

arrow-down

Enter your text here…

What can you expect if you’ve been convicted of DWI?

Here are some straight answers from our DWI Attorney in Houston. Your punishment and fines for a first conviction depends upon a few factors that can escalate your punishment and fines. Depending upon your blood or breath alcohol level (BAC), you could be charged with a class A or B misdemeanor.

If your BAC less than .15, you’ll be charged with a class B misdemeanor and face: 

  • the possibility of a fine no more than $2,000 and/or
  • 3 to 180 days in jail and
  • a suspended driver license from 90 to 365 days

Those penalties escalate if your BAC is .15 or more. Now you’ll face a class A  misdemeanor, which incurs:

  • a fine not to exceed $4,000 and
  • up to 1 year in the county jail.

Let’s say you have an open container in your vehicle when you are arrested. If you are convicted, the punishment increases requiring:

  • a minimum jail sentence of 6 days (instead of 3 days).
  • you’ll be assessed an annual tax (called a surcharge) of $1,000-$2,000 by the Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS) to retain your driver’s license.

arrow-down

Enter your text here…

Do not leave your reputation in the hands of less experienced DWI Attorney in Houston

  • WE WROTE THE BOOK ON DWI: Our founder, Gary Trichter, is a DWI Specialist by the National College for DUI Defense and he co-authored the textbook, Texas Drunk Driving Law, and has authored or co-authored more than 46 legal and aviation articles.
  • WE HAVE TAUGHT JUDGES & POLICE OFFICERS: Recognized DWI lawyers, we practice all over Texas. We’ve taught judges, other attorneys, and police officers across the country about Texas DUI law and the rights of those arrested. 
  • ONE OF ONLY FOUR DWI SPECIALIST IN TEXAS: Gary is one of only four attorneys in Texas who have been board certified as DUI Defense Attorneys by the National College for DUI Defense. This is the only entity approved by the American Bar Association to issue this qualification. 
  • checkWE PROVIDE DWI DEFENSE ALL OVER TEXAS: Trichter & LeGrand defends clients all over Texas from our offices in Houston and Bandera. We practice in all counties including Harris County, Montgomery County, Fort Bend County and Webster County. 

713-260-2901

420 Heights Blvd, Houston, TX 77007

Get your FREE consultation with our DWI Attorney in Houston Now

Full NamePhone NumberEmail AddressDate of ArrestGet a FREE Consultation Now

2018 Trichter & LeGrand, PC

 

Let us start fighting

for you now!

YesNo

Areas We Serve

Let us answer your Texas DWI Questions

Texas DWI Questions

  • What is a DWI 3rd or more and the potential punishment?
  • What is a felony DWI?
  • What is DWI 2nd and the potential punishment?
  • How long will a DWI arrest or a DWI conviction in Texas stay on my record? How will it affect my automobile insurance rates?
  • What is an administrative license revocation (ALR), and why is it important to have an ALR hearing?
  • What are the penalties for a DWI in Texas? (Before Sept 1, 2019)
  • What is DUI and its potential punishment?
  • What is DWI and its potential punishment?

Answer

713.524.1010 24/7 FREE CONSULTATION WHAT IS A DWI 3RD & PUNISHMENTS? https://youtu.be/pmjH6TQr5JM According to the State of Texas, a DWI third offense is when an individual is arrested for DWI and has previously been convicted two times of ...

read more

713.524.1010 24/7 FREE CONSULTATION WHAT IS A DWI FELONY? https://youtu.be/1WNopl5kEZM Felony DWI in Texas charges are very serious and can have a major impact on your life beyond just the punishment stated. A felony conviction can disqualify you fr ...

read more

713.524.1010 24/7 FREE CONSULTATION What is DWI 2nd and the potential punishment? https://youtu.be/3mIC8GubQBI DWI 2nd is a serious charge. According to the State of Texas, a DWI 2nd charge is when you are arrested for DWI and have previously been co ...

read more

713.524.1010 24/7 FREE CONSULTATION How long will a DWI conviction in Texas stay on my record? A DWI conviction produces a permanent record. It is also important to note that a DWI probation, which is also a final conviction, will remain permanently ...

read more

713.524.1010 24/7 FREE CONSULTATION What is an administrative license revocation (ALR), and why is it important The best reason to request an administrative license revocation hearing or ALR hearing, first and foremost, is to try to save your driver ...

read more

713.524.1010 24/7 FREE CONSULTATION WHAT ARE THE PENALTIES FOR A DWI IN TEXAS Penalties For a DWI in Texas Changed on September 1, 2019 Prior To September 1, 2019: The First-Offense penalties for DWI conviction with less than a .15 BAC includes the ...

read more

713.524.1010 24/7 FREE CONSULTATION DUI Punishment in Texas https://youtu.be/jLtrDxaIgZ4 Before 1983, DUI meant driving under the influence of drugs or narcotics, but now it only pertains to minors. In Texas, it is never permissible for minors to hav ...

read more

713.524.1010 24/7 FREE CONSULTATION DWI Punishment https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4Sghr4P5T7o DWI is a criminal offense which prohibits you from operating a motor vehicle in a public place while “intoxicated” is defined as having lost the normal ...

read more

Past Results from actual DWI clients

Television reporter with spouse was in a one-car accident after hitting a tree. .20 BAC — Case Dismissed

dismiss

President of brokerage firm was arrested driving home after a meeting with colleagues. Registered a .19 blood test. - Not Guilty.

dismiss

Business owner was arrested for DWI while driving home after company birthday party. - Not Guilty.

dismiss

College student was arrested for DWI on beach over spring break. Failed blood test. - Not Guilty.

dismiss