The First-Offense penalties for DWI conviction with less than a .15 BAC includes the possibility of a fine not to exceed $2,000.00 and/or a jail sentence from 3 days to 180 days, and a driver’s license suspension of 90 to 365 days. (Class B Misdemeanor). Where, however, there is a BAC .15 or more, the possibility of a fine increases to $4,000 and jail increases to one year (Class A misdemeanor).
JAIL & FINES
The Jail Penalties for a class B & A misdemeanors remain the same, ie 72 hours to 180 days in jail for a class B and 365 days for a class A. However, fines have now increased and are:
1) $3,000 for First conviction to be paid within 36 months;
2) $4,500 for a Second or subsequent conviction within 36 months; and,
3) $6,000 for a First or subsequent conviction if there is a BAC result of 0.15. The statute says the critical time of the 0.15 is not the time of driving, but rather, the time of the analysis.
The fines can be waived by the trial judge, as can court cost where the court finds that the defendant is an indigent. This can be done by reviewing tax returns, recent wage statements or other Goverment agency proof.
HAVE YOU BEEN ARRESTED FOR A DWI?
If you have been arrested and charged with a DWI or DUI in the State of Texas you are facing two cases against you. One case is by the Texas Department of Public Safety to suspend your drivers license and the other is the criminal case by the State of Texas.
You only have 15 days to act or you will lose your drivers license and your first case. We Recommend you get the best DWI attorney you can afford and fast.
Form Submissions have a fast response time. Request your free consultation to discuss your case with one of our attorneys over the phone. The use of this form does not establish an attorney-client relationship.