Aggressive Harris County DWI Lawyer
We will fight for you.
For years, Harris County has had one of the highest rates of alcohol-related traffic deaths in the United States causing the county to invest thousands of dollars in a DWI task force. This activity, which has included adopting No-Refusal Weekends, has resulted in hundreds of innocent people being arrested for DWI. If you need a Harris County DWI lawyer who will aggressively fight for you, call the office of Trichter & LeGrand 24/7 to speak to an attorney.
A Harris County DWI Attorney who will defend your rights
Trichter & LeGrand is home to two of only four DWI Specialists by the National College for DUI Defense in Texas. This designation is granted by the College of DUI Defense and is the only accreditation recognized by the American Bar Association. The Texas Bar Association does not have a designation like this. As a DWI Specialist, they understand the science of DWI defense and how it can debunk the faulty chemical and road side tests administered by law enforcement.
It’s important to remember that you are presumed to be innocent until PROVEN guilty. You may think that the State has an insurmountable amount of evidence against you–from video tape showing you performing unfair roadside tests, inaccurate results from breath or blood tests. But with a Harris County DWI Attorney and DWI Specialist on your side, you could get a positive outcome.
Harris County ALR Lawyer
As part of your DWI arrest, you’ll also need to contest your driver license suspension. Be sure to hire a Harris County ALR Lawyer at Trichter & LeGrand to request a hearing within 15 days of your arrest or else your license will be suspended. Be sure to schedule your hearing within 120 days from your arrest date.
Your Harris County ALR Lawyer will accompany you to your hearing where an Administrative Law Judge (ALJ) will listen evidence and issue a final, but appealable decision. If he or she finds that DPS has proven its case, he’ll authorize your driver license suspension. If DPS fails to prove their case, you’ll be able to keep your license.
Harris County DWI Facts 2016
DWI numbers for 2016
- HPD (Harris County)
- 4,392 total DWI arrests for the year
- Average of 366 per month
- All other agencies* combined for the Houston-Galveston DMA including DPS, Sheriff Dept, and surrounding municipal departments (West U, Deer Park, Pasadena, etc)
- 6,588 total DWI arrests for the year
- Average of 549 per month
Areas with the heaviest number of DWI arrests in 2016:
- North Division- North of 610 between 290 and the Hardy Toll road: 616 Arrests
- Central Division- Downtown, Midtown, Washington Avenue, Memorial Dr.
MADD’s 2013 collected statistics in Texas:
- 1,337 deaths caused by a drunk drivers
- The death total represents 39.5 percent of all total traffic deaths
- 3.6 percent increase from 2012.
DWI arrests are on the decline in Harris County
- 2016: 4392
- 2015: 4800
- 2014: 5182
- 2013: 6235
Some of the Harris County top DWI Hot Spots according to Click2Houston (2015):
- 610 loop and the 59 freeway.
- FM 1960 between I-45 and 290
- In the Pasadena area south of 225 to Spencer Highway
- On Galveston Island, between 20th street and 61st street
- The beltway between I-45 and 249
- Airline drive between Little York and Aldine Bender
Harris County Cities
If you’ve been arrested for DWI anywhere in Harris County including Atascocita, Baytown, Bellaire, Bunker Hill Village, Champions Forest, Cinco Ranch, Clear Lake City, Cypress, Deer Park, Friendswood, Hedwig Village, Humble, Katy, Kingwood, Klein, La Porte, League City, Missouri City, Pasadena, Pearland, Piney Point Village, Seabrook, Southside Place, Spring, Stafford, The Woodlands (mostly in Montgomery County), Tomball, Webster, Waller or West University Place, call the DWI attorneys at Trichter & LeGrand.
Let us start fighting
for you now!
Harris County DWI Lawyer
When you need a Harris County DWI Attorney, our aggressive team is standing by to help. If you've been arrested in Bellaire, Houston, Katy or surrounding areas, call us now.read more
Montgomery County DWI Lawyer
If you've been arrested, call a Montgomery County DWI Attorney to defend you and try to get your license back. We can help you if you've been arrested in Conroe and The Woodlands.read more
Fort Bend County DWI Lawyer
Call us when you need a Fort Bend County DWI Attorney to fight for you. We can help you if you've been arrested in Sugar Land, Missouri City or surrounding areas.read more
Let us answer your Texas DWI Questions
Texas DWI Questions
- What is a DWI 3rd or more and the potential punishment?
- What is a felony DWI?
- What is DWI 2nd and the potential punishment?
- How long will a DWI arrest or a DWI conviction in Texas stay on my record? How will it affect my automobile insurance rates?
- What is an administrative license revocation (ALR), and why is it important to have an ALR hearing?
- What are the penalties for a DWI in Texas?
- What is DUI and its potential punishment?
- What is DWI and its potential punishment?
According to the State of Texas, a DWI third offense is when an individual is arrested for DWI and has previously been convicted two times of DWI. If you are convicted of a third DWI, this third-degree felony can result in A fine up to $10,000 Betwe ...read more
Felony DWI in Texas charges are very serious and can have a major impact on your life beyond just the punishment stated. A felony conviction can disqualify you from voting, obtaining certain jobs, renting certain apartments, and owning a firearm. T ...read more
DWI 2nd is a serious charge. According to the State of Texas, a DWI 2nd charge is when you are arrested for DWI and have previously been convicted once of driving while intoxicated. There is no limit to how old your previous conviction may be in orde ...read more
A DWI conviction produces a permanent record. It is also important to note that a DWI probation, which is also a final conviction, will remain permanently on your criminal record. If, however, your DWI conviction case results in a dismissal, then the ...read more
The best reason to request an administrative license revocation hearing or ALR hearing, first and foremost, is to try to save your driver’s license. The ALR Program is “a civil administrative process unrelated to criminal court proceedings, i ...read more
The penalties for a DWI in Texas DWI are: The First-Offense conviction with less than a .15 BAC includes the possibility of a fine not to exceed $2,000.00 and/or a jail sentence from 3 days to 180 days, and a driver’s license suspension of 90 to 36 ...read more
Before 1983, DUI meant driving under the influence of drugs or narcotics, but now it only pertains to minors. In Texas, it is never permissible for minors to have any alcohol in their body and drive. DUI punishment as a result of a charge does not re ...read more
DWI is a criminal offense which prohibits you from operating a motor vehicle in a public place while “intoxicated” is defined as having lost the normal use of either mental or physical faculties, or having a .08 alcohol level in either your breat ...read more
Past Results from actual DWI clients
Television reporter with spouse was in a one-car accident after hitting a tree. .20 BAC — Case Dismissed
President of brokerage firm was arrested driving home after a meeting with colleagues. Registered a .19 blood test. - Not Guilty.
Business owner was arrested for DWI while driving home after company birthday party. - Not Guilty.
College student was arrested for DWI on beach over spring break. Failed blood test. - Not Guilty.