830.213.2879 830.423.5860 713.597.2086

Newsroom

Need an attorney who knows DWI or drug possession law and defense? Contact the DWI lawyers with Trichter & LeGrand. Our attorneys are available to lend insight on current situations or give comment on issues to the media. We can also speak to your organization about the dangers of drinking and driving and how to stay out of trouble. Trichter & LeGrand lawyers have the unique combination of prosecution, defense and instructional experience that lends wisdom in high profile situations.

Texas Questions: Can a passenger have an open container in a motor vehicle while it’s being driven?
August 11, 2016

No. The State of Texas prohibits any passenger from having an open alcoholic container in a passenger area of the vehicle unless the person is a passenger in the living quarters of a motor home, a limousine, a bus, a taxi, or a motor vehicle designed ...

read more
BlogVideos: The roll of a criminal defense lawyer
January 31, 2017

How in the heck can you defend those people?! When I’m at social events and I tell people that I’m a criminal defense attorney, many times, I am answered with disgust, “How can you possibly defend those people?!” But, more interesting, howeve ...

read more
Texas Questions: If I take a breath and/or blood test and the alcohol concentration (BAC) is .15 OR MORE, what are the ramifications?
August 11, 2016

If submit to a DWI blood test or breath test and your alcohol concentration (BAC) comes back as 0.15 or higher, your charge can be enhanced from a DWI class B misdemeanor to a DWI class A misdemeanor, which may carry conviction penalties similar to a ...

read more
Texas Questions: What can cause my commercial driver’s license to be suspended?
August 11, 2016

If you own a commercial drivers license or CDL, it may be suspended for 1 year (or 3 years if transporting hazardous material at the time) if you are convicted of: operating a commercial or noncommercial motor vehicle while intoxicated in a public pl ...

read more
Texas Questions: What is DWI probation?
August 11, 2016

DWI probation is a contract between you and the court when you are convicted of crime in which the judge suspends your jail sentence, does not make you pay the entire fine, and does not take away your driver’s license as long as you behave under ...

read more
Texas Questions: What is intoxication manslaughter and the potential punishment?
August 11, 2016

Intoxication manslaughter is when you cause the death of another person by accident or mistake, either while committing the act of BWI or FWI or while operating a motor vehicle while intoxicated in a public place (DWI), and by reason of your intoxica ...

read more
Texas Questions: What is intoxication assault and its potential punishment?
August 11, 2016

Intoxication assault is when you cause serious bodily injury to another person by accident or mistake, either while committing the act of BWI or FWI or while operating a motor vehicle while intoxicated in a public place (DWI), and by reason of your i ...

read more
Texas Questions: What is a DWI 3rd or more and the potential punishment?
August 11, 2016

According to the State of Texas, a DWI third offense is when an individual is arrested for DWI and has previously been convicted two times of DWI. If you are convicted of a third DWI, this third-degree felony can result in A fine up to $10,000 Betwe ...

read more
Texas Questions: What is DWI with child and the potential punishment?
August 11, 2016

DWI with child passenger is a very serious charge. According to the State of Texas, DWI with a child passenger is when: a person commits a offense if the person operates a motor vehicle in a public place; and, the vehicle being operated by the perso ...

read more
Texas Questions: What is a felony DWI?
August 11, 2016

Felony DWI in Texas charges are very serious and can have a major impact on your life beyond just the punishment stated. A felony conviction can disqualify you from voting, obtaining certain jobs, renting certain apartments, and owning a firearm. T ...

read more

DWI / DUI Defense Videos

view all videos

Let us start fighting

for you now!

YesNo

Areas We Serve

Let us answer your Texas DWI Questions

Texas DWI Questions

  • What is a DWI 3rd or more and the potential punishment?
  • What is a felony DWI?
  • What is DWI 2nd and the potential punishment?
  • How long will a DWI arrest or a DWI conviction in Texas stay on my record? How will it affect my automobile insurance rates?
  • What is an administrative license revocation (ALR), and why is it important to have an ALR hearing?
  • What are the penalties for a DWI in Texas?
  • What is DUI and its potential punishment?
  • What is DWI and its potential punishment?

Answer

According to the State of Texas, a DWI third offense is when an individual is arrested for DWI and has previously been convicted two times of DWI. If you are convicted of a third DWI, this third-degree felony can result in A fine up to $10,000 Betwe ...

read more

Felony DWI in Texas charges are very serious and can have a major impact on your life beyond just the punishment stated. A felony conviction can disqualify you from voting, obtaining certain jobs, renting certain apartments, and owning a firearm. T ...

read more

DWI 2nd is a serious charge. According to the State of Texas, a DWI 2nd charge is when you are arrested for DWI and have previously been convicted once of driving while intoxicated. There is no limit to how old your previous conviction may be in orde ...

read more

A DWI conviction produces a permanent record. It is also important to note that a DWI probation, which is also a final conviction, will remain permanently on your criminal record. If, however, your DWI conviction case results in a dismissal, then the ...

read more

  The best reason to request an administrative license revocation hearing or ALR hearing, first and foremost, is to try to save your driver’s license. The ALR Program is “a civil administrative process unrelated to criminal court proceed ...

read more

The penalties for a DWI in Texas DWI are: The First-Offense conviction with less than a .15 BAC includes the possibility of a fine not to exceed $2,000.00 and/or a jail sentence from 3 days to 180 days, and a driver’s license suspension of 90 to 36 ...

read more

Before 1983, DUI meant driving under the influence of drugs or narcotics, but now it only pertains to minors. In Texas, it is never permissible for minors to have any alcohol in their body and drive. DUI punishment as a result of a charge does not re ...

read more

DWI is a criminal offense which prohibits you from operating a motor vehicle in a public place while “intoxicated” is defined as having lost the normal use of either mental or physical faculties, or having a .08 alcohol level in either your breat ...

read more

Past Results from actual DWI clients

Television reporter with spouse was in a one-car accident after hitting a tree. .20 BAC — Case Dismissed

dismiss

President of brokerage firm was arrested driving home after a meeting with colleagues. Registered a .19 blood test. - Not Guilty.

dismiss

Business owner was arrested for DWI while driving home after company birthday party. - Not Guilty.

dismiss

College student was arrested for DWI on beach over spring break. Failed blood test. - Not Guilty.

dismiss