830.213.2879 830.423.5860 713.597.2086

San Antonio Boating While Intoxicated– BWI Lawyer

Aggressive San Antonio BWI Lawyer Who Will Fight Boating While Intoxicated Charges

When you’ve been arrested for Boating While Intoxicated, you need a top San Antonio BWI lawyer fast. A person is charged with BWI in Texas if they are intoxicated while operating a watercraft. A BWI offense is a class B misdemeanor except as provided by Section 49.09 of the Texas Penal Code, requiring a minimum of 72 hours of confinement.

If you’ve been arrested for BWI, call us 24/7 to keep your boating and driver licenses.

Gary Trichter is a DWI Specialist by the National College for DUI Defense Who Aggressively Defends BWI Charges

Gary Trichter is a DWI Attorney Specialist by the NCDD with more than 35 years of experience defending citizens charged with boating while intoxicated. He understand that a BWI arrest is similar to a DWI arrest. Both can damage your valuable reputation and change your life. The penalties for BWI are, in fact, the same as DWI — both can be a tremendous financial and career burden on you and your family.

A Boating While Intoxicated Arrest Can Happen to Anyone

No matter how responsible you are as captain of your watercraft you can still be wrongly arrested. Always put the safety of your passengers and other people on the water first:

  • Don’t overindulge on alcohol while enjoying yourself on Texas waters. If fact, it’s best not to drink at all before or while operating a watercraft on Texas waters.
  • Be sure to wear a life vest and make sure you have enough for every passenger on board.
  • Don’t drink if you’re going to entertain guests on your boat.

Doing the right things still doesn’t guarantee that you won’t be arrested for BWI. Imagine fishing or water skiing on the lake most of the day and a law enforcement vessel approaches your boat for a safety inspection. After making sure you have plenty of life preservers on board, the officer remarks that they can smell alcohol on your breath.

Sobriety Test on Sea Legs

The officer takes you on board his vessel and your whisked ashore. There, you’re given about 15 minutes to shed your “sea legs,” then put through a series of dock-side gymnastics. He asks you to stand on one leg, walk a straight line, and tilt your head back while closing your eyes. With this faulty testing, the officer observes that you are clearly off balance and arrests you for boating while intoxicated. Gary Trichter has seen this scenario many times and knows how to poke holes in the flawed testing methods used to charge innocent people of BWI.

Your BWI lawyer practices all over Texas

Attorney Gary Trichter can help if you’ve been arrested for boating while intoxicated while boating anywhere in Texas including Median Lake, Braunig Lake, Calaveris Lake, Choke Canyon Reservoir and  Canyon Lake.

Call us 24/7 to speak to Gary about your case.

Let us answer your Texas DWI Questions

Texas DWI Questions

  • What is a DWI 3rd or more and the potential punishment?
  • What is a felony DWI?
  • What is DWI 2nd and the potential punishment?
  • How long will a DWI arrest or a DWI conviction in Texas stay on my record? How will it affect my automobile insurance rates?
  • What is an administrative license revocation (ALR), and why is it important to have an ALR hearing?
  • What are the penalties for a DWI in Texas?
  • What is DUI and its potential punishment?
  • What is DWI and its potential punishment?


According to the State of Texas, a DWI third offense is when an individual is arrested for DWI and has previously been convicted two times of DWI. If you are convicted of a third DWI, this third-degree felony can result in A fine up to $10,000 Betwe ...

read more

Felony DWI in Texas charges are very serious and can have a major impact on your life beyond just the punishment stated. A felony conviction can disqualify you from voting, obtaining certain jobs, renting certain apartments, and owning a firearm. T ...

read more

DWI 2nd is a serious charge. According to the State of Texas, a DWI 2nd charge is when you are arrested for DWI and have previously been convicted once of driving while intoxicated. There is no limit to how old your previous conviction may be in orde ...

read more

A DWI conviction produces a permanent record. It is also important to note that a DWI probation, which is also a final conviction, will remain permanently on your criminal record. If, however, your DWI conviction case results in a dismissal, then the ...

read more

The best reason to request an administrative license revocation hearing or ALR hearing, first and foremost, is to try to save your driver’s license. The ALR Program is “a civil administrative process unrelated to criminal court proceedings, i ...

read more

THE PENALTIES FOR DWI IN TEXAS ARE: The First-Offense penalties for DWI conviction with less than a .15 BAC includes the possibility of a fine not to exceed $2,000.00 and/or a jail sentence from 3 days to 180 days, and a driver’s license suspensio ...

read more

Before 1983, DUI meant driving under the influence of drugs or narcotics, but now it only pertains to minors. In Texas, it is never permissible for minors to have any alcohol in their body and drive. DUI punishment as a result of a charge does not re ...

read more

DWI is a criminal offense which prohibits you from operating a motor vehicle in a public place while “intoxicated” is defined as having lost the normal use of either mental or physical faculties, or having a .08 alcohol level in either your breat ...

read more

Areas We Serve