San Antonio DUI Lawyer (For Minors)
If you have been arrested for DUI and you are under the age of 21, you’ll need an aggressive San Antonio DUI lawyer like Gary Trichter to mount your defense. Texas is a zero-tolerance state which means minors can never legally have ANY alcohol in their body and drive a motor vehicle or watercraft. To convict a minor of DUI, prosecutors do not need proof that the driver or operator was impaired in oder to get a conviction. They only need to show that the minor had a detectable amount of alcohol in his or her body.
A San Antonio DUI Lawyer Who Knows How to Mount an Aggressive Defense
Until 1983, DUI meant driving under the influence of drugs or narcotics, but now it applies only to minors, that is, anyone under the age of 21. A DUI conviction holds an escalating number of penalties depending upon whether it is the minor’s first, second or third offense. With every subsequent offense, the punishment becomes stiffer which makes defending the first offense much more critical to avoid stiffer punishment should the minor be arrested again for DUI.
DUI First Offense
A DUI first offense is a C misdemeanor holding the following punishments:
- A fine up to $500
- 20 to 40 hours of community service
- He or she must attend an alcohol awareness program, a drug education program or a drug and alcohol driving awareness program. If they do not complete the program, the court will order the Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS) to suspend or deny the issuance of the minor’s driver’s license for up to 6 months.
- 60 days driver’s license suspension and the minor would not be eligible for an occupational license for the first 30 days
- There is no incarceration for this type of misdemeanor if he or she is convicted
DUI Second Offense
With a DUI second offense, the consequences increases to:
- Class C misdemeanor, punishable by a fine up to $500
- Attend an alcohol awareness class (at the judge’s discretion)
- 40 to 60 hours of mandatory community service
- 120 days driver’s license suspension and the minor would not be eligible for an occupational license for the first 90 days
DUI Third Offense
With a DUI third offense, the punishment escalates:
- The minor is not eligible for deferred adjudication
- Suspended driver’s license for 180 days with no opportunity to obtain an occupational license during the entire suspension period
- For minors age 17 years or older, the fine increases to $500 to $2,000 and/or could face jail confinement up to 180 days
Police will likely issue a citation giving the minor arrested notice of his or her offense as well as when and where they must appear in court. Police are not required to take a minor arrested for DUI into custody.
If you or a family member need a San Antonio DUI attorney, call Gary Trichter for a free consultation. As a DWI Specialist by the National College for DUI Defense, Gary has worked with thousands of families in similar situations and understands the impact a DUI can have on a budding future.