San Antonio DWI – Driving While Intoxicated
Hire a San Antonio DWI lawyer Who Knows How to Fight
The odds are stacked against you if you are pulled over and the officer suspects that you’ve been drinking. With San Antonio DWI lawyer Gary Trichter on your side, you can rest assure that he’ll aggressively defend your rights. Being arrested for DWI is frightening and can be personally and professionally devastating costing you thousands of dollars in fines and fees. Unfortunately, it could also cost you your job.
Gary Trichter can help.
A San Antonio DWI Attorney Who has Defended Thousands of Clients
Recognized as leading DWI lawyer, Gary Trichter has defended thousands of clients all over Texas since 1980. He has spoken at more than 300 seminars and conferences teaching judges, other attorneys, and police officers about the rights of those arrested for DWI and DUI. With so much at stake, trust the experience of a DWI Specialist by the National College for DUI Defense and San Antonio DWI lawyer.
Gary Trichter is One of Only Four DWI Specialist in Texas
Gary is one of only four attorneys in Texas who is a DWI Specialist by the National College for DUI Defense which means, he is board certified as a DUI Defense Attorney by the NCDD–the only certification approved by the American Bar Association and the Texas Bar Association. He is also a pioneer in DWI defense, representing clients across the country who value their reputations and understand the impact a DWI charge can have on their lives and careers. The textbook he co-authored, Texas Drunk Driving Law, is used by criminal attorneys throughout Texas. He has also authored or co-authored 50 legal and aviation articles and has been a featured speaker at more than 300 seminars on criminal defense, DWI and DUI. He is sought after by lawyers, judges, and prosecutors about various aspects of the DWI law.
Possible Punishment for a First-Time DWI Offense
If you’ve been charged with a Class A or B misdemeanor DWI, your fines and punishment for a DWI first conviction will depend upon a few factors including your blood or breath alcohol level (BAC) at the time of your arrest. If…
Your BAC is less than .15, you could be charged with a class B misdemeanor where you’ll face:
- The possibility of a fine no more than $2,000 and/or
- 3 to 180 days in jail and
- A suspended driver license from 90 to 365 days
Your BAC is .15 or more, you’ll face a class A misdemeanor, which means:
- A fine not to exceed $4,000 and
- Up to 1 year in the county jail.
Your charges will increase if you had an open container in your vehicle and you’ll face the following punishment:
- A minimum jail sentence of 6 days (instead of 3 days).
- An annual tax assessment (called a surcharge) of $1,000-$2,000 by the Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS) to retain your driver’s license
The court has the discretion to determine bond conditions on a first-offense DWI, but if you are charged with a subsequent DWI or intoxicated assault or manslaughter, in Texas, you’ll be required to install a vehicle ignition interlock device on your car. An ignition interlock device temporarily disables your vehicle if it detects a certain alcohol level on your breath. You will be required to have the device on any motor vehicle you operate including those vehicles you use for your job.
2017 DWI Non-Disclosure Law Provides a Second Chance to First-Time Offenders
In 2017, a law was signed allowing first-time DWI offenders with a BAC of .08 to .14 to apply for a “non-disclosure.” If you agree to install an ignition interlock device on your vehicle, the provision restricts who can see your criminal record. You can apply for a non-disclosure two years after the end of your probation, but you must have an ignition interlock device on your vehicle for 6 months during the non-disclosure period. If you decide not to have the device installed, you must wait 5 years after your probation to apply.
What if I’m convicted of DWI a second time?
The San Antonio DWI lawyers at Trichter & LeGrand advise clients to fight a DWI first offense aggressively due to the severe penalties for subsequent DWI convictions. A Second Offense DWI holds the following penalties:
- A maximum fine increases up to $4,000.00 and/or
- Jail from 30 days to one year, and
- A possible driver’s license suspension ranging from 180 days to 2 years (Class A Misdemeanor)
What if I’m convicted of DWI a third time?
A DWI third offense, is a third degree felony and that means much more severe penalties and fines:
- A fine up to $10,000.00 and/or
- 2 to 10 years of imprisonment (keep in mind that imprisonment is in a state-run penal institution whereas jail is a county-run institution), and
- Suspension of your driver’s license from 180 days to 2 years.
- With your felony conviction, you’ll be disqualified from voting and possessing a firearm
Being charged with a DWI can change your life. Whether it’s your first, second, third or more–let the San Antonio DWI attorneys at Trichter & LeGrand fight for you.