A Guide to Texas DWI Penalties
Your criminal lawyers in Houston, Texas, want you to be aware of the consequences and Texas DWI penalties you could face if you are convicted of driving while intoxicated (DWI). These penalties can range from a license suspension to hard jail time, depending on the circumstances surrounding your conviction.
Possible Texas DWI Penalties
If you are convicted of a DWI charge, you should know that the state of Texas can suspend your license, charge you an annual surcharge of up to $2,000 for three years to keep your license, force you to attend a DWI intervention or education program and potentially install an ignition interlock device on your car. These penalties can occur whether it is your first offense or more.
Some penalties for DWI increase in Texas based on the offense number. Here is an overview of offenses and punishment.
- Your first offense–It can result in up to a $2,000 fine and between three and 180 days of jail time, as well as the previously mentioned across-the-board penalties. Read more here.
- Your second offense–The fine increases to up to $4,000 and jail time is increased to between a month and a year. Your third offense can net you up to a $10,000 fine and between two years and 10 years in a state prison. Read more here.
- Your third or more offense— If you are convicted of a third DWI, it’s a third-degree felony and can result in a fine up to $10,000 and 2 years to 10 years. Read more here.
- DWI with a child — Texas takes this offense very seriously. No matter what offense number you are on, driving while intoxicated when a child is your passenger can cause you to face up to a $10,000 fine, two years of jail time and a minimum 180-day license suspension. Read more here.
Extreme DWI Crimes
Although the Houston DWI lawyers at Trichter & LeGrand believe that all DWI charges are serious, they also know that DWI charges can involve felony charges, including intoxication assault and intoxication manslaughter. If you are facing either of these felony charges, you will need to speak with your Trichter & LeGrand attorney to learn the full extent of your possible Texas DWI penalties, as these can vary depending on the situation surrounding the charges.