What is a felony DWI?
Felony DWI in Texas charges are very serious and can have a major impact on your life beyond just the punishment stated. A felony conviction can disqualify you from voting, obtaining certain jobs, renting certain apartments, and owning a firearm. There are four intoxication-related offenses that are classified as felony DWI.
Felony DWI in Texas Offenses include:
- A DWI 3rd or more offense
- A DWI with a child passenger
- An intoxication assault
- An intoxication manslaughter
A state jail felony can result in a fine up to $10,000 and confinement in a state jail for any term not more than 2 years or less than 180 days. Your driver’s license may also be suspended from 90 days to 2 years. If you are convicted, you will be assessed an annual $1,000-$2,000 surcharge fee each year for 3 years in order to retain your driver license.
Felony DWI in Texas and Required Restrictions
The court may require you to several things including:
- Installing a vehicle ignition interlock device on your car which determines the presence of alcohol in your breath. This will be a condition of your bond and you won’t be allowed to operate a motor vehicle without it. If the device detects a certain level of alcohol, the vehicle will be temporarily disabled.
- The court also will order you to abstain from using alcohol and controlled substances without a prescription. It will enforce this by ordering you to submit to random drug testing.
- Sometimes, the court may order you not to operate your motor vehicle while your case is pending.
Call the Gary Trichter, the DWI Specialist by the National College for DUI Defense, at Trichter & LeGrand, PC
If you are charged with these types of offenses, you should take special care in choosing an experienced and knowledgeable legal advocate. The Houston DWI attorneys at Trichter & LeGrand have handled hundreds of DWI felony cases. We understand the intricacies of the law and the flawed science used to convict innocent persons who are wrongly accused of DWI.