What is the DWI Non-Disclosure Statute?
In 2017, the Texas legislature signed into law the Texas DWI Non-Disclosure Statute that would allow first-time DWI offenders who have a BAC of .08 to .14 to apply to restrict who can see their criminal records.
According to the Texas Office of Court Administration, a nondisclosure is
“An order of nondisclosure is a court order prohibiting public entities such as courts and police departments from disclosing certain criminal records. If you have a criminal record, you may benefit from obtaining such an order. An order of nondisclosure also legally frees you from disclosing information about your criminal history in response to questions on job applications. You do not need to mention information related to the offense that is the subject of an order of nondisclosure.”
Requirements of DWI Non-disclosure Statute
For those charged with DWI, the “non-disclosure” requires that:
- You install an ignition interlock device on your vehicle for 6 months during the non-disclosure period or
- You wait 5 years after your probation to apply for Non-Disclosure if you decide not to install the interlock device
- You apply for a non-disclosure two years after your probation ends
Benefits of DWI Non-disclosure Statute
Let us start fighting
for you now!
Harris County DWI Lawyer
When you need a Harris County DWI Attorney, our aggressive team is standing by to help. If you've been arrested in Bellaire, Houston, Katy or surrounding areas, call us now.read more
Montgomery County DWI Lawyer
If you've been arrested, call a Montgomery County DWI Attorney to defend you and get your license back. We can help you if you've been arrested in Conroe, The Woodlands or surrounding areas.read more
Fort Bend County DWI Lawyer
Call us when you need a Fort Bend County DWI Attorney to fight for you. We can help you if you've been arrested in Sugar Land, Missouri City or surrounding areas.read more
Kerr County DWI Attorney
Arrested in Kerrville or anywhere in Kerr County? Call the oldest DWI Specialist in Texas. When you've been wrongly arrested in Camp Verde, Center Point, Hunt or Mountain Home, we can help.read more
Kendell County DWI Attorney
If you've been arrested in Kendell County, call a DWI Specialist attorney who fights for you. Whether it's Boerne, Kendalia, Nelson City, Sisterdale or Waring, call us 24/7 to speak to an attorney now.read more
Bandera County DWI Lawyer
Bandera County is famous for the great outdoors.There is so much to do and at some time, you may find yourself needing a Bandera DWI Lawyer.read more
Bexar County DWI Lawyer
Arrested in San Antonio or anywhere in Bexar County? Call the oldest DWI Specialist in Texas. When you've been wrongly arrested in Alamo Heights or Universal City, we can help.read more
Let us answer your Texas DWI Questions
Texas DWI Questions
- What is DWI and its potential punishment?
- What is DUI and its potential punishment?
- What are the penalties for DWI in Texas?
- What is DWI 2nd and the potential punishment?
- What is an administrative license revocation (ALR), and why is it important to have an ALR hearing?
- What is a felony DWI?
- What is a DWI 3rd or more and the potential punishment?
- How long will a DWI arrest or a DWI conviction in Texas stay on my record? How will it affect my automobile insurance rates?
DWI is a criminal offense which prohibits you from operating a motor vehicle in a public place while “intoxicated” is defined as having lost the normal use of either mental or physical faculties, or having a .08 alcohol level in...read more
Before 1983, DUI meant driving under the influence of drugs or narcotics, but now it only pertains to minors. In Texas, it is never permissible for minors to have any alcohol in their body and drive. DUI punishment as a...read more
The penalties for DWI in Texas DWI are: A First-Offense conviction will less than a .15 BAC includes the possibility of a fine not to exceed $2,000.00 and/or a jail sentence from 3 days to 180 days, and a driver’s...read more
DWI 2nd is a serious charge. According to the State of Texas, a DWI 2nd charge is when you are arrested for DWI and have previously been convicted once of driving while intoxicated. There is no limit to how old...read more
The best reason to request an administrative license revocation hearing or ALR hearing, first and foremost, is to try to save your driver’s license. The ALR Program is "a civil administrative process unrelated to criminal court proceedings, in which...read more
Felony DWI in Texas charges are very serious and can have a major impact on your life beyond just the punishment stated. A felony conviction can disqualify you from voting, obtaining certain jobs, renting certain apartments, and owning a firearm. There are...read more
According to the State of Texas, a DWI third offense is when an individual is arrested for DWI and has previously been convicted two times of DWI. If you are convicted of a third DWI, this third-degree felony can result in...read more
A DWI conviction produces a permanent record. It is also important to note that a DWI probation, which is also a final conviction, will remain permanently on your criminal record. If, however, your DWI conviction case results in a dismissal,...read more
Past Results from actual DWI clients
President of brokerage firm was arrested driving home after a meeting with colleagues. Registered a .19 blood test. - DWI Case Dismissed.
Business owner was arrested for DWI while driving home after company birthday party. - DWI Case Dismissed.
College student was arrested for DWI on beach over spring break. Failed blood test. - DWI Case Dismissed.
Retired dentist was arrested for DWI after meeting up with friends at local bar. Failed breath test. - DWI Case Dismissed.